Ladies and gentlemen, after months of research and picking and choosing I’m pleased to announce the genre nominations for the 1st Ever Annual Movie Dude Awards! Though this is just the first of three groups of nominees, and we’re not even at the real ceremony yet, the hard part is over and I can finally see my work pay off. I’ve included twelve genres for my awards, choosing what I considered to be the ones who delivered quality entertainment throughout 2014. Each genre has five films nominated, and yes, some tough choices were made, so don’t be surprised if there some great films that didn’t make it, but rest assured knowing I was impartial, not just picking my favourites. Now I had to make a compromise. Originally I planned write-ups for each nomination, explaining my decision to include them, but considering it’s almost April things started getting long in the tooth. I had to make a tough choice; drag this thing out even longer or get this show on the road. Having worked so hard on this I was aching to get this pet project out there, so I bit the bullet. If I’m still crazy enough to do this next year I’ll be better prepared, but for now all I can say is; enjoy!

*

The toughest challenge I had with nominating via genre was that modern films always include elements of several genres all rolled into one. I had to weigh each film up and determine which genre was being represented over all. I basically had to determine where its strengths lay.

Action in cinema, to me, isn’t just about the car chases, gun fights and explosions. Action is what gets your heart going and has you pumped up and ready for anything when you come out of the theatre. When you come out of a film, having sat on your butt for two hours but feeling exhausted, you know a film is action-packed.

I challenge anyone to save humanity while stuck in a continuous life and death loop, fight a villainous force in space, take in a former soldier with some mental health issues, lead a class-warfare rebellion on a perpetual-motion locomotive or travel back in time to save the future for all mutant-kind and not to wipe the sweat from their brow.

Best Ever Action Film

Edge Of Tomorrow Guardians Of The Galaxy The Guest Snowpiercer X-Men Days Of Future Past

*

*

*

*

*

Adventure films have one of the toughest challenges in cinema. They have to drag you into their world and lead you to faraway places, like a cross-country road trip or into space, without you ever leaving your seat. To see a film and come away saying you’ve experienced a great journey with a diverse bunch of characters is what an adventure flick is all about.

Weather it be guarding the galaxy, flying dragons, buckling in for a ride with lego Batman, or tagging along with a bunch of muppets and penguins, these films left you wondering where you’d gone while the film was being screened.

Best Ever Adventure Film

Guardians Of The Galaxy

How To Train Your Dragon 2

The Lego Movie

Muppets Most Wanted

Penguins Of Madagascar

*

*

*

*

*

Once upon a time the creation of an animated film was not a job to be envied. It was a lot of hard work bringing those single-frame images together to create a life on-screen, but they did it. Nowadays the process is much easier, but the end goal is still the same: create a life worth watching. Animators have to find a way for their drawings to become more than just lines of ink on paper; they have to become real.

If I were to see a bear and a mouse stealing cubs’ teeth, maybe find a bear lost in London, or perhaps meet a princess that could fit into the palm of my hand I would not be the least bit surprised thanks to these films.

Best Ever Animated Film

Ernest And Celestine Paddington Rocks In My Pockets Song Of The Sea The Tale Of The Princess Kaguya

*

*

*

*

*

Anyone who’s read my reviews knows I love a true story. Not so much the alterations some films make to them, but I love them nonetheless. Funnily enough the goal of a film based on history should be to leave you in disbelief, wondering how such events could take place and how remarkable people could achieve in such trying times.

It should leave you in awe at Cheryl Strayed’s thousand-mile trek, admiring the artistic works of J.M.W Turner, believing in the dreams of Martin Luther King and lamenting the treatment of Alan Turing.

Best Ever Biopic Or Historical Film

Mr. Turner The Imitation Game Pride Selma Wild

*

*

*

*

*

It’s hard to pigeon-hole a comedy as just a comedy because jokes in film are the icing on the cake, not always the cake itself. The stories told here are not only brilliantly created theyre able to make us laugh at them along the way. The comedy in them was just too good to ignore.

It could be an inflatable super hero, a mouse and a bear, a concierge at a remote hotel, a lego figure or an innocent bear that tells the joke. It’s not just the line that counts, it’s the situation they’re in that makes the laughter.

Best Ever Comedy Film

Big Hero 6Ernest And Celestine The Grand Budapest HotelThe Lego MoviePaddington

*

*

*

*

*

What’s one step better than dramatising events? Speaking directly to those who were there to experience it. Documentaries aren’t for the lazy cinema-goer; they’re telling you how it happened, but there are no actors showing you. You have to imagine it for yourself.

That’s the gamble of the documentary. It’s easy to miss the mark and have your audience walking away disinterested. But the truths behind the biggest whistle blower in modern history, what could have been a history-altering 70s sci-fi film, the lifes work of a film critic, everyday oil workers trying to buy homes for their families and the fight to save the mountain gorillas of Virunga National Park are riveting tales that you will not grow bored of any time soon.

Best Ever Documentary

Citizenfour Jodorowsky's Dune Life Itself The Overnighters Virunga

*

*

*

*

*

That’s it for the moment folks. I’ve got six more coming tomorrow before we wrap up the genres and move onto production. Now that things are coming along I can safely say the ceremony will take place in April on a date I will announce at the end of the month. Before then I’ve got my review of Insurgent and another round of quick flicks coming so stay tuned and, as always, enjoy!

