Thanks to my USB having a mind of its own my Best Ever Director post is now on another computer and unavailable to me. Be rest assured, both that and the nominations for Best Ever Film are on the way, they’ll just be a day late. But hey, I wouldn’t be the Movie Review Dude if I delivered on the dates that I promised.

Instead I have a surprise for you. I was saving this until tomorrow but instead I switched things around, quite literally, so here for you all are the nominations for the 1st Ever Most Valuable Dude Award!

*

For a performance that has both changed his career path and altered our perception of him as an actor – Steve Carell in Foxcatcher

FOXCATCHER

For a body of musical composition in 2014 that includes the scores for The Grand Budapest HotelThe Imitation Game, and Monuments Men – Alexandre Desplat

des_article_story_large

For outstanding achievement in artistic design – The Grand Budapest Hotel

The Grand Budapest Hotel

For being the highest-grossing performer of 2014 – Jennifer Lawrence

jennifer-lawrence-3

For dedicating twelve years of his career to a critically acclaimed single body of work – Richard Linklater for Boyhood

Richard Linklater

For special achievement in the field of motion capture technology – Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes

Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes

For special achievement in both special effects and practical design – Interstellar

Interstellar

For his flawless and convincing performance as a man with motor neuron disease – Eddie Redmayne in The Theory Of Everything

Eddie Redmayne

For his amazing performance with the use of motion capture technology – Andy Serkis in Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes

Andy Serkis

For being the highest grossing film of 2014, for grossing over $1 billion and (up until recently) being the fastest film to reach the $1 billion mark – Transformers: Age Of Extinction

transformers-age-of-extinction-poster

*

I do apologise for the change in plans; it actually annoyed me for once because the work is finished – all I have to do is post it! Nevertheless I feel I’ve given you something just as worthwhile, I hope it’s satisfactory and I shall be back bright and early tomorrow to present the final two categories. Tomorrow will also be a special day as I will announced the date of the ceremony! Enjoy!

