Best Ever Director or Film

The Best Ever Film of 2014

So here we are – finally. The Movie Dude Award of all Movie Dude Awards: Best Ever Film. This was a tough decision to make, which is why I had twelve films nominated, but the winner was always in the back of my mind, I just needed some time to think it over. There were many films I thought warranted the forgettable title of Best Ever Film, but I can say now I know I’ve made the right decision here, and I hope you all agree with me.

I’ve mentioned numerous times over the past few days as to why I’ve chosen this film, but to reiterate it’s the commitment and sacrifice that went into creating two hours of moving pictures all so we could be entertained. Nobody who worked on this can ever claim it was for the money, it was all for the craft and because of that everybody was invested and the results were amazing.

The film itself is brilliant. At its heart it’s an honest look at life as it unfolds for one individual made all the more sentimental by its scope. The feelings this film evokes come directly from the man who created it and brought it to life. Together all these emotive attributes have made Boyhood not just a well-produced film but one that will be remembered for a long time to come.

Boyhood

*

And that, my friends, was the 1st Ever Annual Movie Dude Awards. It’s been a lot of hard work so I can’t say I’m all that heartbroken that it’s over, but at the same time I’m taking a bit of pride in what I’ve achieved, even if it was just a whole lot of self-indulgence that nobody asked me to do.

As for what happens next; things will go back to normal and I’ll be happy to return to my usual mundane schedule of previewing months and trailers and going to the cinema. I’m looking forward to getting back to my Cinema Rewinds and Series Specials because I do miss them, but I have mentioned I will be doing a Movie Dude Musing detailing the process of making this so look out for that coming in the next month or so (maybe more, I need to get away from nominations and winners and awards).

So it’s business as usual from here on… until around February next year (or March, or April… or May) when I submit myself to this torturous procedure again. Until next time stay tuned and enjoy!

