Director Adam Nelson Starring Finnian Nainby-Luxmoore, Matt Jones, Isabelle Glinn, Graham Cawte, Peter Olvier

Recently I was contacted by Apple Park Films, requesting one of ‘ol pa Movie Dude’s patented film reviews for their micro-budget film Little Pieces. Of course I’m happy to oblige, I’m just that nice a guy (dude?). Thanks goes out to Adam Nelson and Apple Park Films for considering me a viable option for exposure and promotion, and for being so patient considering how long it took me to get around to writing this review. If I keep using my studies as an excuse then I absolve myself of all responsibility…

Eric

Little Pieces is a intricately-woven story about two men whose seemingly unrelated lives, and fates, are tied together. The film covers the effects violence can have on love, relationships and family, but it also takes us through reconciliation without ever stumbling.

It was a little tricky critiquing a independent film such as this one as I’m so used to the big-budget Hollywood blockbusters, so I had to make do without, but therein lies the strength of Little Pieces. Writer/director Adam Nelson has managed to create an incredibly strong film using only a fraction of what we generally see at the cinema. After viewing this and mulling over it I noticed I hadn’t ever seen Hollywood produce anything quite like this, which made it quite a unique experience. I realised there’s no way they would be able to make an intelligent film with such raw emotion and realism as its main focus because the star-power and want of a few dollars more would inevitably get in the way.

Michael and Cheryl

Hollywood can blatantly phone it in at times because they know when they’ve got a cash-cow on their hands but when you’ve only got a budget of six-thousand dollars you have no option but to make it work.

Jerry

So don’t be turned off by what you don’t see with Little Pieces and really focus on what’s there because that’s all that’s needed; the rest is just excess. Sure, with millions of dollars it would look a whole lot fancier, but that’s a very shallow perspective and is only one aspect of what makes a film, it really has nothing to do with its quality. Little Pieces gets by on the bare minimum, and it does is with ease.

MRD 7 of 10

