hlM8znYwflFgfxl64xrjFDIC6k7.jpg

Starring Jodie Foster, Kelly McGillis, Bernie Coulson, Leo Rossi & Ann Hearn

Directed by Jonathan Kaplan

This generation, most specifically over the last two years, considers itself to be progressively innovative in regards to equality, gender rights and sexism. In actuality we’re some twenty-eight years behind the times.

The only catch about The Accused is that all forms of sexual assault don’t make for great watching, so repeat viewings are far between. But few films have effectively depicted and tackled the issue so emphatically and with such sincerity. Others can come across as exploitative and gratuitous when it becomes obvious that the crime is being used as a form of entertainment. The Accused prevails with its depiction of injustice by plainly stating the facts. No defence can argue with that.

For these reasons I should have rebooted my Cinema Rewinds with this film. That may still happen one day, but because of that feeling this film now stands outside the realm of a star-rating.

aint-them-bodies-saints

Starring Casey Affleck, Rooney Mara, Ben Foster, Keith Carradine, Charles Baker & Nate Parker

Directed by David Lowrey

These viewings actually took place a while back, so some of the finer details are hazy. But what’s telling about Ain’t Them Bodies Saints is how little I remember of this at all. In having to read over the plot of the film I rediscovered my dis-entranced impression. There was nothing overly wrong with its creation, it was just utterly uninteresting all over. Although I would attribute this short review to my memory lapse, I also feel that my lack of a response to Ain’t Them Bodies Saints is indicative of its quality.

MRD 5 of 10

 

labyrinth1

Starring Jennifer Connelly, David Bowie, David Bowie’s Package, Brian Henson, Ron Mueck & David Shaughnessy

Directed by Jim Henson

This was a trip back to my youth. My sister was crazy about Labyrinth, in particular David Bowie, so the old VHS tape got a decent workout when we were kids. I hadn’t seen it for a long time until my girlfriend announced herself as a die-hard fan, so I figured I’d give it a go for nostaligia’s sake.

Great detail has gone into the Henson-esque design of Labyrinth, but it leaves other areas severely lacking. The scope of the world is never fully explored, meaning the characters and the plot remain thin throughout. Yet it’s still a fun and enjoyable flick that has aged quite well, so much like Bowie’s fans in regards to his acting, Labyrinth always gets a free pass.

MRD 5 of 10

 

 

